Seeing stars

This is my first ever entry for the CASology challenge blog. The theme this week is orange – which is a colour I’m not instantly drawn to so it was fun to play around with!

Here’s what I ended up with:

Front

Side

close up

I designed the stars and sentiment using Powerpoint and Word. I’m not sure if the you’ll be able to see from the close up but the stars are filled with the phrase “wish upon a star”.

To create the stars I  typed the wish upon a star phrase out repeatedly in Powerpoint until I had 3 lines of text. I then copied the 3 lines of text and pasted them until I had filled the Powerpoint slide. Then I changed the background of the slide to orange and the text to white the powerpoint slide then saved the text as a picture (right click on the textbox to do this).

Once the image was saved I opened up a word document and drew a star using autoshapes (there are many shapes to choose from). I then right clicked on the star shape and selected format shape. In the format shape options I went to fill and then chose picture or text fill. From there all I needed to do was navigate to my saved picture and click insert and voila the picture I created was transformed into the star shape

When I was happy with the layout of the stars and sentiment I printed the design  out and mounted it onto a piece of orange card which was then attached to my card base. I think it looks quite effective!

I think I will use this technique for the wedding card I need to create and fill a heart shape with the names of the happy couple to create a personalised card.

Thanks for reading!

Lucy xXx

3 thoughts on “Seeing stars

  1. I LOVE the arrangement of the stars and the whole digital lesson – I had no idea you could do all that with powerpoint and word! Good for you! Thanks so much for playing along with CASology this week!

  2. What a fun and fabulous digi card! I’m always a sucker for a star and I love the text you used inside them. Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

Leave a comment

