Macmillan Coffee Morning

Today my Mum’s work held a coffee morning in aid  of the Macmillan Cancer Support Charity. The coffee morning was part of a bigger event organised by Macmillan called ‘the world’s biggest coffee morning‘ where supporters are encouraged to put on a coffee morning in the hope of raising some much needed money for the charity.

One of my Mum’s colleagues asked if I would make some of my cupcakes for them to sell and luckily as I had a day off from work I had the time to do so! I hadn’t opened my favourite Hummingbird Bakery cookbook for a while so this was the perfect excuse to get baking again.

Once I’d made my cupcakes (vanilla with a strawberry jam filling) I thought that they could probably do with a sign so that people new what they were. Writing the description on a piece of paper just looked a bit shabby, but luckily inspiration struck and I remembered a Sizzix embossing folder (part of the Butterfly Migration set) which I thought would do the trick when combined with a computer printed description.

Here is the final result:

Cupcakes and sign

Cupcakes and sign

Close up of sign

Close up of sign

My cupcakes proved popular (in fact they sold out!) and overall the coffee morning made £124 pounds – not bad for a couple of hours work.

Thanks for reading!

Lucy xXx

Leave a comment

